Sport: The U17 World Cup At A Glance

World Cup U17

World Cup U17

The FIFA U-17 World Cup, founded as the FIFA U-16 World Championship, later changed to the FIFA U-17 World Championship and known by its current name since 2007, is the world championship of association football for male players under the age of 17 organized by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

The first edition was staged in 1985 held in China and tournaments have been played every two years since then. It began as a competition for players under the age of 16 with the age limit raised to 17 from the 1991 edition onwards. The last tournament was hosted and won by Mexico, with the present edition being hosted by the United Arab Emirates in 2013.

Nigeria is the most successful nation in the tournament’s history, with three titles and three runner ups. Brazil is the second most successful with three titles and 2 runner ups. Ghana and Mexico have won the tournament twice.

A corresponding tournament for female players, the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, began in 2008, with Korea DPR winning the inaugural tournament.

Nigeria has just beat the Mexican side by 3Goals to nothing.

Nigeria has broken the Record for having the Most trophies in the U17 World Cup.

Looking at Nigeria and the road to the Finals in photos will be posted later.

Its Parker baby
BBM: 275B9C0D
twitter :


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s